Picture
    Have you ever think about what culture you belong?? If I analyze my life I could say that I belong to the mexican culture. Although I was not born in Mexico I call myself mexican because both my parents are.
    The first way that i can tell that i belong to the mexican culture is by the type of food we eat. We like to eat tamales, enchiladas, frijoles(beans), and tortillas.We gather in the table and talk about our day while we eat " i feel like if i was in a restaurant".We also  eat a lot of chili with our food, like my mother says "the food is not good without chili on it". I like to help my mom when she is cooking because that way it helps me learn the recipes so i can keep passing it on.I alway ask her what else to put:"Ma what else do i put in the soup?". she is like "add salt and mix it".That ius the way a learn to cook.
    Secondly "we are like oceans and water",we are really united and we love to spend time with each other.In the Christmas season i remember that we planed everything to get together for that day. My mom and aunts are the ones that make the food (tamales), my dad and uncles usually just sit down and talk while they drink coffee.My cousins,brothers and i usually play games and wait till is time to open the present. I remember one time when one of my aunts had to take care of the tamales so they won't burn ,but they end up burning because she forgot.It was funny because somebody start smelling the burn tamales so they told her and they wher trying to take out the ones that were good.
    The third thing that makes me feel that i belong to the Mexican culture is my language, why?. Well it's not because i speak spanish is just that there are things that we call differently then other places, for example we say "aretes"(earrings) and other countries they say "zarcillos". We have words that mean different things to us then what they mean in other countries.Some people think that because we speak spanish we now everything the same way, Sometime i don't understend what my friends from other countries in South America say. "We are like a school lesson" we learn something different each time.
    In my opinion this is why i think that i belong in the mexican culture. What culture do you consider yourself to be part of?

Miller-Payton
12/11/2012 06:28:13 am

Very good, Maggie! I love the specific descriptive moments, especially the little tamale incident and how you've distinguished Mexican from other Spanish-speaking cultures. I would take off a few points for the similes because they're not really similes, but the rest of the essay is so well-written. 100%

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.